The Silence that Binds Us

The Silence that Binds Us

No reviews
Regular price$17.99
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.
  • $5 economy shipping WA, OR, ID, CA, MT. $8 rest of US. Free US shipping for orders over $75!
  • Free gift wrap and messaging with every order.
  • Low stock - 2 items left
  • Inventory on the way
Release date: Tuesday, June 14

New York Times bestselling author Joanna Ho’s debut YA novel explores themes of racism, classism, loss, friendship, and mental health in an achingly powerful book that will challenge closely held beliefs. Perfect for fans of The Astonishing Color of After and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.

Joanna Ho, author of the New York Times bestseller Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, delivers an exquisite, heart-rending debut young adult novel that will inspire all to speak truth to power.

In the face of injustice will you speak up or stay silent?

Maybelline Chen isn't the Chinese Taiwanese American daughter her mother expects her to be. May prefers hoodies over dresses and wants to become a writer. When asked, her mom can’t come up with one specific reason for why she's proud of her only daughter. May's beloved brother, Danny, on the other hand, has just been admitted to Princeton. But Danny secretly struggles with depression, and when he dies by suicide, May's world is shattered.

In the aftermath, racist accusations are hurled against May's parents for putting too much “pressure” on him. May’s father tells her to keep her head down. Instead, May challenges these ugly stereotypes through her writing. Yet the consequences of speaking out run much deeper than anyone could foresee. Who gets to tell our stories and who gets silenced? It’s up to May to take back the narrative.

Use collapsible tabs for more detailed information that will help customers make a purchasing decision.

Ex: Shipping and return policies, size guides, and other common questions.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Recently viewed