The Silence that Binds Us

The Silence that Binds Us

Regular price$17.99
/
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • $5 economy shipping WA, OR, ID, CA, MT. $8 rest of US. Free shipping in the US for orders over $75! Books ship FREE!
  • Free gift wrap and messaging with every order.
  • In stock, ready to ship
  • Inventory on the way
Release date: Tuesday, June 14

New York Times bestselling author Joanna Ho’s debut YA novel explores themes of racism, classism, loss, friendship, and mental health in an achingly powerful book that will challenge closely held beliefs. Perfect for fans of The Astonishing Color of After and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter.

Joanna Ho, author of the New York Times bestseller Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, delivers an exquisite, heart-rending debut young adult novel that will inspire all to speak truth to power.

In the face of injustice will you speak up or stay silent?

Maybelline Chen isn't the Chinese Taiwanese American daughter her mother expects her to be. May prefers hoodies over dresses and wants to become a writer. When asked, her mom can’t come up with one specific reason for why she's proud of her only daughter. May's beloved brother, Danny, on the other hand, has just been admitted to Princeton. But Danny secretly struggles with depression, and when he dies by suicide, May's world is shattered.

In the aftermath, racist accusations are hurled against May's parents for putting too much “pressure” on him. May’s father tells her to keep her head down. Instead, May challenges these ugly stereotypes through her writing. Yet the consequences of speaking out run much deeper than anyone could foresee. Who gets to tell our stories and who gets silenced? It’s up to May to take back the narrative.

All orders placed before 12pm PST are processed on the same business day (excluding weekends and holidays) you receive your order confirmation email. Custom curated gift boxes and all other orders may ship on the next business day at the latest. You will receive a shipping confirmation email that includes your tracking number when your order has shipped. Please reference our full shipping policy for further detail.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Recently viewed

By: Vy Yang

Your Kids Are Ready for Summer, But Are You?

PSA: Summer officially starts June 21st! Read our latest blog post.

Get Prepared